Strawberry Balsamic Chicken Garlic Bread with Mozzarella

   strawberrymotzgarlicbread

Strawberry-Balsamic-Chicken-Garlic-Bread with Mozzarella is not only a mouthful, but one of my favorite improve recipes…or perhaps, more accurately, an improve of an improve recipe. I had decided to make mozzarella quesadillas with strawberries, shredded chicken, and a light balsamic sauce.

After work I went to the store to pick up the ingredients (In my excitement for this recipe I actually did an errand on a weekday). Sadly, when I returned home and began prepping I realized that I had forgotten to buy the organic whole-wheat tortilla shells for the quesadillas. Since I don’t keep any bread in our apartment, I panicked. In a frenzy, I began searching how to make tortilla shells at home on my ipad (even though there was clearly no way I would’ve happened to have all the ingredients for tortillas just lying around).

Finally, when I was close to giving up hope on the nice meal I had planned, I voiced our very serious dinner predicament to Gabe (who had been enjoying The Daily Show on the couch with a glass of whiskey soda, unfazed). His simple response “I’ve got frozen garlic bread in the freezer,” lead a new favorite dish. Even though it was a lucky accident, I am very proud of my creation: Strawberry Balsamic Chicken Garlic Bread with Mozzarella and I hope you’ll give it a try!

Ingredients:6ad36cbe95acb3c9d2bf8e81c64c07cb

  • 1 Loaf Frozen Garlic Bread (cut in half)
  • 1 Quart Strawberries
  • 10 oz Shredded Chicken
  • 5 oz Mozzarella
  • 6 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Fresh Basil Leaves for garnish (optional)

Step 1: Cook chicken in slow cooker (greased with one Tbsp Olive Oil) on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4 hours (until moist and easily shredded with a fork).

Step 2: 30 mins before chicken is done, cook garlic bread loaves at 350 for 8-10 mins, then remove while bread is still soft-not crispy or blackened at all (leave oven on 350).

Step 3: While the bread cools a little, rinse and slice the strawberries.

Step 4: Push down the center of the garlic bread loafs with your hand so that it forms a deep boat. It will press down easily because the garlic spices and oils will have soaked into the bread’s center, leaving the crust firm for the outside ‘hull’ of your ‘boat.’

Step 5: Fill boats 3/4 of the way with shredded chicken. Add sliced strawberries to the top 1/4, then drizzle balsamic vinegar. Add mozzarella cheese.

Step 6: Grease pan with olive oil and put back into the oven for about 10 mins (or until the cheese is melted).

Step 7: While bread is cooking, slice fresh basil leaves. Remove bread from oven and sprinkle the freshly chopped leaves over the top.

Leave a Reply

