‘Fried’ Cucumber Chips w/ Spicy ‘Ranch’ Dip

FullSizeRender (2)

I just came up with this recipe tonight, and I am so proud of it I had to post it right away. I’ve been determined to be productive this weekend, as Gabe is out of town on a family boys weekend and unable to distract me. Yet after spending all day doing laundry and kicking but non-stop, I was so sick of getting stuff done that I NEEDED a break.

Although I sometimes complain about how much time I spend cooking (especially since we do not have a dishwasher), folding what felt like 500 baskets of laundry made me realize how much I *need* me time to get creative in the kitchen. Cooking and creating new recipes is my release. I love to get creative with what we have on hand, and fortunately, these crispy ‘fried’ cucumber slices turned out amazing! Here is the recipe, make them, they are healthy and awesome.

Ingredients for “Fried” Cucumber:FullSizeRender (5)

  • 1 Cucumber
  • 2 C. Panko bread crumbs
  • 2 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 C. Freshly shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 C. All Purpose Flour
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Paper Towels

Ingredients for Dipping Sauce:

  • 1/4 C. Non-fat Greek Yogurt
  • 4 Tbsp Ranch Dressing Mix Spices
  • 1/4-1/2 C. Frank’s Hot Wing Sauce (depending on preference for spice)
  • 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Optional: splash or two sriracha sauce

Step 1: Preheat oven to 400 degrees and cover a pan with parchment paper.

Step 2: Slice cucumbers, and place on plate with a paper towel on top. Salt both sides and place another paper towel on top, pressing down lightly so the paper towel sicks. Wait 20 mins for juices to release into the paper towel.

Step 3: Combine panko bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper (as desired), together in a shallow plate.

Step 4: Put flour in another shallow plate. Whisk eggs in another small bowl.

Step 5: Dip cucumber slices individually into the flour, then egg bowl, then into the breadcrumb mixture. Place each cucumber on the pan lined with parchment paper.

Step 6: Bake cucumbers for 30 mins (or until crispy-make sure to check after 20-25 minutes so they don’t burn).

Step 7: combine all of the ingredients for the dipping sauce in a small bowl and stir with a fork.

Enjoy amazingness.

Leave a Reply

